Ka-boom

Yarn bombing has been going on for a while now, but has suddenly spiked in popularity, it seems. There is even a website (or 10) dedicated to it. Crafty folks that knit/crochet up various pieces and then attach them to public items, usually under cover of darkness so as not to get caught.

I am on the fence on this one. Part of me is excited that people are taking this craft to new places (literally and figuratively), while the rule-following middle child in me still considers this vandalism and messing with something that doesn’t belong to you. (Don’t even get me started on graffiti artists…)

Check out these books for even more amazing ways folks are using yarn: Astounding KnitsYarn Bombing

They’re even blogging about it.

And apparently this past Saturday was also the inaugural International Yarn Bombing Day (coinciding with Knit in Public Day).

One Comment Add yours

  1. Amy M. says:

    That’s crazy! I’m totally a rule-following middle child as well! Luckily I have a rule-breaking younger sister so I can have some excitement in my life. Who designed this blog by the way?? Love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

