New Year’s Resolutions

I know, who discusses New Year’s resolutions in April? Well, mine this year was to finish all my UFOs before I began any new (large) knitting projects. And I just finished #4 of 6. Felt pretty good to cross it off the list, which included a baby blanket, a merino short-sleeve sweater and two baptismal shawls (which I just spent every waking moment of the past 4 days knitting, adding the fringe at 1:30AM last night for today’s deadline).

The last two items on the list are the most dreaded, hence their unfinished status. Which begs the question, Why finish them at all? Why not frog them, or just throw them away? Isn’t this hobby supposed to be FUN?

Well, it’s a matter of personal pride now, to finish these buggers off. The next on the list is a 75%-finished wedding afghan for friends of mine… who were married eight years ago yesterday. Like I said, it’s a matter of personal pride to finish it now. She doesn’t even know she’s getting it, and boy will it be a surprise when she gets it in the mail (after I take copious pix of it to prove I did indeedy finish it). Hopefully her two children won’t ruin it – that’s right, she’s managed to make two offspring in the time it’s taken me to finish this – but it is acrylic/washable. Which is also one of two reasons I haven’t finished it: it’s 8-yr-old acrylic I’m knitting with, and it’s really NOT a pleasant thing to use. I have no idea what I was thinking. Back then, I had little discretionary income and I thought I was doing her a favor by using Red Heart acrylic. That’s right, I used RHA. Ugh. They’ve come a long way, baby, in acrylic production since then, but this guy is not soft and pliable. And I got bored with the cabling about two panels ago, which is the other reason this beauty has been sitting for so long. Boredom is the kiss of death for my projects. I am a seriously fickle knitter. But with only a foot left on the last panel, and the edging to do, I just can’t let this one go.

Here is where I am now:

And here is where I aim to be before I post here again:

Y’all are my accountability partners on this one.

Better get crackin’. Or should I say cablin’…

One Comment Add yours

  1. Wendy says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished product! You are an inspiration to us all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

