Learning Something About Myself

The Knit Guild of America hosted their annual national Knit & Crochet Show in lil’ ol’ Renoa few weekends ago. I signed up as a member months ago so that I could get in free all weekend, and waited anxiously for the day to come, dreaming of row upon row of vendors with new and unusual fibers that I wouldn’t be able to resist.

I went with a friend on Saturday – she is a very good friend for many reasons, but today’s was her revelation to me that just because a vendor is paying attention to me and being nice does NOT mean I have to buy something from them in order not to be rude. Sounds elementary, I know, but being the middle child that I am, I have a hard time with this concept. Thanks, Wendy.

As a pre-registrant, I qualified for a free Lion Brand “goody bag.” Good thing they didn’t tout it as a “great” bag, because there really wasn’t that much even good about it – it was a few books of free patterns (already available free online, including an entire one dedicated to Homespun ), a retracting tape measure and one small skein of Vanna’s Glamor. Its biggest contribution was the giant bag that I could then use to haul all my other yarn booty home.

Which brings me to my second disappointment of the weekend. The number of booths was surprisingly small for a “national” show – perhaps 30 in all – and only two large national manufacturers came (Lion Brand and Red Heart). Perhaps Reno charged too much to rent a booth, because most folks had a 10x10ft square to showcase all their wares, which in the fiber world ain’t that much space! It also made it hard to maneuver around the other knitters.

There was one vendor that had a large area filled with inexpensive cotton, tencel and wool skeins, and I spent an inordinate amount of time scouring through the heaping piles, looking for just the right colors with which to make a future undetermined garment. I thought it was ingenious that they used deli stickers to identify and price their skeins (sold by weight), but walking away with my purchase in a big white garbage bag was a little embarrassing.

The most valuable thing I took away from this shopping jaunt was not the yarn, but what I learned about myself and my addiction: I love to fondle every skein of yarn I can get my chapped little hands on, and talk with the people that sell it, but I don’t have an unbearable desire to bring it all home with me. I’m content to play with everyone else’s and leave with just a few. (Oddly, I feel the same about babies.) I reaffirmed how valuable good friends are, and how little yarn I really need to buy to make me happy. 🙂

P.S. When I brought the inexpensive yarn home and showed my husband, his response was, “Why didn’t you buy more? And you’re going back, right?” Gosh, I love that man.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Wendy says:

    By the way, I can’t wait to go yarn shopping with you again. Only having a tight time deadline kept us from spending the entire day there, revisiting every vendor a few times. You might have ended up with more yarn than you’d wanted…or with a several big white garbage bags filled with yarn for future undetermined projects. xxoo

    Like

Leave a Reply

