Shhh!…aun the Sheep

Now that I have finally gotten the thing in the mail to the intended birthday girl (three weeks late) I can talk about it, not just post vague pictures on Instagram that she can’t see.

I give you… Shaun the Sheep.

20150614_183436

20150614_183428

It’s a small thing, for notions, makeup, cell phone, whatever. Her choice. I think it turned out darling, but the stranded colorwork was a bit of a beast. (It was stranded since I carried the colors across the back, as opposed to intarsia, where each color would have its own separate little bobbin. I know you were dying to know the difference, and now you can sleep well tonight. You’re welcome.)

Since the inside was a bit of a sheep-show, I decided to line it to cover that up. I used a bit of white felt, sewn up the sides, and blanket-stitched into the inner edge. So much easier than making one out of fabric – no raw edges to worry about.

20150613_113249

20150614_183126    20150614_183109

The pattern also called for an overly complicated solution to the adorably large eyes that Shaun sports – a clear bead over a black button over a white sequin. Seriously? I think the googly eyes (which I already had in my button stash – yes, it’s a thing, don’t judge me) worked just perfectly.

20150614_183444

For the deets, it’s this pattern, knit in Chartreuse(ish) and Black Bernat Sheep(ish) by Vickie Howell with white fleece in Red Heart Buttercup.

And while I’m at it, here’s a teaser for the next gift-that-I-can’t-officially-show-because-I-haven’t-delivered-finished-it-yet.

Shhh!

20150628_132004

2 Comments Add yours

  1. How cool! It’s fantastic

    Like

Leave a Reply

